COVID 19 Resources

covid-19

 

 

 

Message from the IDCCM Director - Dr. Laurent Brochard

Dear all,

We are living extraordinary times with COVID-19. Critical care is the last final resource of our society to fight the COVID-19 attack.

We don't know yet what will be the pattern but we see cases coming in the ICUs of the GTA and the rise is usually exponential.

A few points:

- We have designed a simple algorithm for the medical management of patients with respiratory failure, with two versions depending on whether one uses high flow or face mask oxygen. Happy to answer any questions about this.

- This and other resources can be found on our website

- We are also preparing tools to better know what is going on in the different ICUs in Toronto. Presently, we share information on WhatsApp.

- Because we have to cope with pressure and strain, resources for psychological support are available (see website).

- Remember to protect yourself (your safety first), wash your hands obsessively and restrain from touching your face. YOU are such an important resource. Follow the rules and we'll continue to get all connected.

You are exceptional people.

Thank you.

Laurent Brochard, MD

Division Director, Interdepartmental Division of Critical Care Medicine

Wellness

Letter from Hannah Wunsch on behalf of IDCCM

Dear critical care colleagues,

We know work in critical care is demanding, and at times each of us may need the opportunity to address the strain we feel. With the added pressures of COVID-19 everyone may have different situations or scenarios that cause them additional stress. We have established a connection with our colleagues in psychiatry who are familiar with critical care, and who are available to touch base with you about any concerns you may have, in a discreet and confidential manner.

The first step in accessing this support is via email to Jon Hunter at jon.hunter@sinaihealth.ca. Either he or a colleague will get back to you as soon as they can and determine the best option for support. For trainees, an additional route is through the Postgraduate Wellness Office atpgwellness@utoronto.ca.

For anyone who may not have easy access to a private space, either at home or at work, we have also listed at the end two critical care staff contacts for each hospital who are available any time to facilitate office/space for you to have privacy – whether just to have time to yourself or to allow for a private conversation.

Reaching out for support is not a sign of weakness, it is a sign that you are human. Please make use of these resources, and also know that colleagues are always there to support you as well.

Thanks.

Hannah Wunsch
(On behalf of the IDCCM, with a special thanks to our psychiatry colleagues for their partnership)

For direct access to support:
jon.hunter@sinaihealth.ca
pgwellness@utoronto.ca (trainees only)



Critical care contacts for additional support and facilitating private space at work:

Sunnybrook Hospital
Hannah Wunsch 416-908-2606, hannah.wunsch@sunnybrook.ca
Rob Fowler 647-991-7799, rob.fowler@sunnybrook.ca

St Michael’s
Karen Burns 647-400-0935, karen.burns@unityhealth.to
Andrew Baker 416-705-0144, andrew.baker@unityhealth.to

Toronto General
Margaret Herridge 416-722-7517, margaret.herridge@uhn.ca
John Granton 647-225-4485, john.granton@uhn.ca

Toronto Western
Laura Hawryluck 416-843-8019, laura.hawryluck@uhn.ca
Jeff Singh 647-990-4854, jeff.singh@uhn.ca

Mount Sinai
Christie Lee 416-278-6493, christie.lee@sinaihealth.ca
Stephen Lapinsky 416-305-5260, stephen.lapinsky@sinaihealth.ca

SickKids
Roxanne Kirsch 647-268-7466, roxanne.kirsch@sickkids.ca
Steven Schwartz 416-627-0418, steven.schwartz@sickkids.ca

 

Ontario Clinical Practice Guidelines for Antimicrobial and Immunomodulatory Therapy in Patients with COVID-19

This document was developed by a group of Ontario infectious diseases physicians and pharmacists, a clinical pharmacologist/toxicologist, ethicists, and patient partners, with input from critical care physicians and other specialists.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Podcasts and Webinars

Podcast on COVID-19 in Italy (Am J Respir Crit Care Med)

https://outoftheblue.transistor.fm/episodes/covid-19

ESICM Webinar – ‘National Coordination & Experience in Italy’ – Prof. Pesenti & Prof. Antonelli

https://www.esicm.org/blog/?p=2628

 

 

Quick ICU training

Welcome to a free online resource designed to provide you with quick and accessible resources to support re-training or redeployment to critical care during the COVID-19 global pandemic.

https://www.quickicutraining.com/